**Jaffrey Conservation Commission** 

Minutes

Meeting Held at Town Offices March 25, 2015

Present: Carolyn D. Garretson, Chair, Elizabeth Webster, Recorder, Pamela Armstrong, Nancy Beiter, Francis McBride, Michael Soleau, Tom Rothermel, Select Board Representative

Regrets: Matthew Amadon, Nora Barton Bryant, Michael George, William Graf, Patricia Weiner

Guests: Henry Underwood, Joel DeStasio, Sean Sweeney, Charlie Koch

I. The meeting convened at 7:00 p.m.

II. Henry Underwood, GIS technician for the Southwest Region Planning Commission, reviewed the draft of the Conservation Lands Map with the Conservation Commission. Some additions and alterations were proposed.

III. Joel DeStasio, NH Field Manager for Trout Unlimited, presented proposals for the restoration of a tributary of Stony Brook on the Greene Conservation Easement, and Meade Brook on the Underwood Conservation Easement. These are Minimum Impact Projects, under the aegis of the US Natural Resources Conservation Service. The Commission approved the expidited review application for the Greene Wetlands Restoration and the expidited review application for the Underwood Wetlands Restoration.

IV. Sean Sweeney, of Headwaters Hydrology, sought approval of his application for the removal of the dam on Ainsworth Pond, and subsequent wetlands restoration. Although Mr. Sweeney's application is incomplete at this time, it could be submitted to the Department of Environmental Services for expedited permitting if the Conservation Commission approves it for signature by CDG upon its completion. Motion approved.

- V. The minutes of the meeting held February 25, 2015, were approved.
- VI. Financial Review: the accounts are unchanged.
- VII. The Land Acquisition Capital Reserve Fund warrant article was passed at the Town Meeting.

VIII. Charlie Koch, who previously served on the Conservation Commission, would like to return as an Alternate. CDG will submit a letter to the Select Board recommending Mr. Koch. Charlie has a particular interest in the reestablishment of an Open Space Committee and the creation of an Open Space Plan. The purpose and membership of such a committee have yet to be determined.

IX. Carolyn D. Garretson was re-elected as Chair of the Jaffrey Conservation Commission by acclamation. Elizabeth Webster was elected Secretary.

X. Members of the Commission are urged to participate in the Earth Day clean-up on May 2, 2015, in coordination with Team Jaffrey.

XI. A motion to adjourn was approved at 9:00 p.m. The next meeting is set for April 22, 2015 at the Town Hall at 7:00 p.m.